I found myself on Ebay tonight, looking at women’s clothing, specifically dresses. I say ‘found myself’, as though I somehow woke up and just happened to be there… In fact, I’d been looking at wedding dresses that one of the 12WBT ladies had posted on Facebook and it started me thinking. Hence the Ebay visit.

It’s been so long since I’ve actually chosen clothes, rather than just finding something that fits and doesn’t look too horrible, or at least doesn’t make me want to stay inside for the rest of my life, that I’m not really sure now, what I’ll want to wear when I’m smaller.

I’ll want them to be comfortable I think and pretty or elegant or funky…. Then I started thinking about the difference between what was appropriate when I was twenty and lithe and tanned as opposed to what might be appropriate now. Is it, should it even be in question?

I think I lean towards bohemian, loose, arty sorts of things, maybe dressed up with bangles and dangly earrings but is that because those are the sorts of things I wore when I was fit and toned and felt good in, in my twenties? Maybe now I’ll enjoy a different sort of look, still yet to be discovered.

ee737fed4dcdf571e3113a2e734d3fda

A photo I found on Google…

I know I’ll want a pair of great jeans that I can dress up or down and feel fantastic in but beyond that….it’s a mystery.

There’s a long way to go yet, before I need to think too hard about it and even when I get there, I’ll be able to have a huge amount of fun finding my new style. Today my sister and I tried out different styles of make-up and she braided my hair. It’s been a long time since I cared enough to bother doing anything more than washing my hair and throwing it into a ponytail, or putting on more than a bit of eyeliner, a light foundation and some lipgloss.

It was fun, light, laughing and just a little bit startling to realise how long I’ve been doing the same thing over and over, without thinking.

The weekend passed in a no-exercise sort of way and I was glad to get out there and walk 6km today, though we’d meant to go to a yoga class…..I got the day wrong….still, it was a good walk and a great way to get going again.

I think I’m doing okay, I haven’t been counting the calories this week at all but I also haven’t been bingeing on yuck food either.

Oh! While I think of it, I made a most fantastic dinner the other night! There aren’t any photos but it was so good, I’m going to describe it anyway 🙂

I cut a piece of pumpkin into thick chunks and sprayed it with olive oil, then shook some garlic salt onto it and put it into the oven to bake.

While it was cooking, I made a sauce out of tinned tomatoes, herbs, tomato paste, chilli, garlic, celery, mushrooms, chicken stock, half a tsp of sugar, a little salt. I let that reduce while I finely chopped cauliflower for cauliflower rice.

When it was all cooked, I served the sauce on a plate, over the ‘rice’ and piled the chunks of caramelised, aromatic pumpkin next to it, scattered with thai basil. It was amazing. I was eating alone and kept making incredulous ‘Yum’ noises with every mouthful 🙂

For a quick and easy meal, full of taste and healthiness, try it out. Really. It was awesome!!

