Glitch noun \ˈglich\
: an unexpected and usually minor problem; especially : a minor problem with a machine or device (such as a computer)

 

So while Saturday went well, I’ve avoided talking about Saturday night and then Sunday because….well…because there was a glitch. A glitch that started with leftover apple pie and got worse from there.

By Monday morning, although I was pulling on my walking shoes, I really didn’t want to go and I was sneakily talking myself out of it. Just quietly. I felt as though I’d let myself down and well, blah, blah, you know the drill.

I walked with Zac to school and then started the walk. The hill was hard, I was uninspired.

When I got to the top of the hill, there was a woman standing on the footpath, holding a cup of coffee in her hand, just looking across her garden.

“Wow, that’s a hill and a half!” I  gasped, pushing the hair out of my face and she nodded and replied as I walked on.

A bit later, telling myself “Come on Claude, just move. You can do it”, in a fairly-half hearted way, I came to a driveway sloping down to a house. Standing at the bottom was a blonde woman wearing a cast on her foot, moving slowly, painfully upwards.

“That doesn’t look as though it can be very comfortable” I said, being Mrs Obvious.

She smiled “No, it isn’t very”

“How did you do it?”

She smiled again, ruefully this time “I fell down the stairs. Actually, I’m waiting for a taxi but I’m having trouble getting to the top of the driveway. Do you think you could give me a hand?”

So far, these seem like pretty ordinary encounters, and they were. We talked about her daughter’s wedding and upcoming trips she was taking. She was friendly and as she spoke, I watched her face. Older than me, gentle, family oriented. She seemed nice.

“and I’ve just lost 7 kilos, so this couldn’t have come at a worse time!” The frustration showed clearly in her voice and I nodded, feeling sympathetic, grateful suddenly that I could walk freely.

A little after that, her taxi came and I kept walking, slipping my earphone back in.

On the way back, I came across the woman with the coffee, but now she was kneeling with her back to me. I watched her hands position a large chisel and smack it with a mallet. A small piece of concrete broke off the driveway and she moved it out of the way. Without thinking, the words left my mouth.

“Oh my god, that’s going to take you forever!” I was laughing and she was unoffended as she straightened up, nodding.

“Well, no hurry. Just have to keep chipping away, bit by bit and eventually it’ll be gone”

We talked for a while. I liked her, she was sensible and thoughtful and I had a strong sense that I’d met her before today but I couldn’t place her.

I said goodbye and walked away, earphones dangling over my shoulder as I tried to puzzle it out and then, in the middle of a thought, I had a sudden flash of insight, a lightbulb moment.

When I was about 21, I read The Celestine Prophesy by James Redfield. In it, he says;

“I don’t think that anything happens by coincidence… No one is here by accident… Everyone who crosses our path has a message for us. Otherwise they would have taken another path, or left earlier or later. The fact that these people are here means that they are here for some reason”…”
I’ve always enjoyed the idea of that, I choose to believe that it might be true.
I went on that walk disheartened and those were the people I met.
One who had just lost a similar amount of weight as me and has now been temporarily stopped in her tracks.
The other was quite literally “chipping away, bit by bit”
Life is so interesting!
I’m back on track. 🙂
