I have my Induction tomorrow, for my new job. Apparently they serve morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea, so I don’t need to take anything. I’m going to go out on a limb and guess that it translates roughly to tea and biscuits, sandwiches and tea and biscuits. 🙂

I’ll take apples just in case.

This last week has gone by in a bit of a blur, as far as diet has gone. I’ve eaten well but I was getting bored with the food I was cooking. Boredom is never a good idea. Boredom around food while I’m reforming my eating habits is an especially bad idea.

So I had a think about what could be done and I realised that part of it had to do with disorganisation. When I started this, I was really organised. I had bags of grapes frozen, little bags of almonds measured out, meals planned for the week and more. Then entropy set in and on Thursday or Friday I realised I’d let it all run down and was shopping every day for meals. No wonder I was getting bored, it was taking up so much of my time!

So on Saturday morning, we all sat down and I wrote down everyone’s favourite things that I’ve made in the last few weeks, plus a few I’ve been meaning to try and I made a meal plan for the week. Then a shopping list. Zac and I went shopping. Aldi, Coles, the local grocer. Until I had replenished everything.

Now there are little bags of grapes freezing in 60 calorie lots, each meal is ready to cook, I have enough carrots and zucchinis for a thousand lunch salads…okay…maybe not a thousand but lots. There are a myriad small tins of tuna and larger tins of crushed tomatoes. The fridge is freshly cleaned and filled with green vegetables, bottles of water, fresh fruit and everything else I might need for the week.

It’s a good feeling. That one day of planning, shopping, bagging/making, has freed my week up and given me a feeling of relaxation about food preparation and healthy eating.

Remind me of it the next time I look like I’m going off the rails, would you? 🙂

 

