This is Day 4 of my week long, self-imposed challenge to post each evening’s dinner here. It’s a thinly-veiled ruse to get myself back here and writing, after a few weeks off and it’s working. Hooray!

I’m excited about tonight’s dinner. It was REALLY good! On a scale of one to ten, Andy gave it a twelve….and it wasn’t just dinner tonight, oh no. In a departure from the norm, I made dessert as well and Zac could barely pretend to be interested in dinner, with the prospect of Apple Crumble to come.

First though, dinner. It was Fish Pie, from a Jamie Oliver recipe and truly, it was the best fish pie I’ve ever eaten! When I thought to make one, I was imagining wine and cream and cheese but his recipe is so much simpler and more healthy. It has grated carrot and spinach and other delish things. The fact that it was better than any other I’ve tried as well was such a bonus. Later, taking a plate to the kitchen, I saw Andy scooping the last mouthful from the dish “Just making it easier to wash up” he said, looking for any that had been missed. I don’t blame him at all, it was awesome!

 

Bare Ingredients. I forgot to put the lemon into the photo..

Bare Ingredients. I forgot to put the lemon into the photo..

 

 

 

 

Uncooked and ready tobe covered with potato.

Uncooked and ready to be covered with potato.

Ready to be cooked

Ready to be cooked

I should have taken a photo later. Not a scrap left.

I should have taken a photo later. Not a scrap left.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And so to dessert.

Over at Conor Bofin’s Blog ‘One Man’s Meat’, I read a Rhubarb Crumble recipe and it looked so yummy, I decided to try an apple one for us tonight, after all our hard work. I modified the recipe, since I made them in small, individual ramekins, so needed less of everything and used apple instead of the rhubarb, obviously.  Even before they were cooked, the apples were aromatic and sweet and yumptious and afterwards….Oh afterwards, they were sublime.

I’m not even kidding. Best dessert in years! It was served with a dollop of cream on each one but I could easily have gone without it, I discovered.

 

Isn't it pretty?

Isn’t it pretty?

I love this little cutter, it made things so much quicker.

I love this little cutter, it made things so much quicker.

The Apple Crumble.....mmmmmm

The Apple Crumble…..mmmmmm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 4, complete 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

