Today had all the potential to be ‘one of those days’ and yet it wasn’t. It started with a sleep-in, which was pretty lovely, then Zac and I joined Andy and Sam, at a game in which Sam was playing. He got a goal, which was great and we were really proud. Picture us beaming.

I discovered that an old friend of mine was visiting in a town 45 minutes north of us (it was on FB you know) and arranged to drive up for a visit. I left my family and started driving, rounded a bend and realised two things at the same time. One, that I was over the speed limit and two, that there was a police car on the other side of the road, whose lights were now flashing.

I pulled over, took out my driving license and waited, stomach clenched, for him to come to my window. He was quite nice about it really but still, suddenly owing hundreds of dollars to the council was a less than auspicious beginning. He went back to his car, I put my seat belt on and prepared to drive away but the battery was dead…..

So I called Andy, who came immediately, kids in tow, to jump-start the car. In twenty minutes it was done and I kissed them all, thanked them and kept going. Incidentally, my friend’s response to me texting to say I’d be late, with a harried explanation, was an “okay, breathe”, which reminded me immediately of why I like her so much, despite not having seen much of her since we were kids.

I had joked about getting lost on the way, which turned out to be prophetic. Even with my trusty talking phone giving me directions, I ended up inexplicably describing a large circle through farmland, which wasn’t where I was aiming at all. I couldn’t be too upset about it though because…well, look….

 

Left

Leftย 

Right

Right

 

We did get to meet in the end though and it was good. It was an easy visit and I left feeling enriched by the conversation.

I had planned to make roast beef for dinner but by the time I got home, it was too late for that, so I decided to use the last of the cream from last night’s dessert and make a Quiche Lorraine instead. I had some nice bacon and some fresh free-range eggs, a couple of sheets of pre-made short-crust frozen pastry, an onion and some cheddar, a little garlic. Easy. I had visions of a puffy, tremblingly custardy quiche, dotted with crispy bacon pieces and some chopped spinach and parsely. It was going to be fabulous.

I pottered about the kitchen, looking up now and then at my family, engaged in various leisure activities, warm and comfortable. It was a nice evening. Then, quiche in the oven, I sat down to talk with Zac and got completely engrossed. So much that I didn’t quite realise how much time had gone by, and the gloriousness of the quiche was reduced to a flattish-looking, brown pancake-y thing.

This isn't what it was supposed to look like at all!

This isn’t what it was supposed to look like at all!

 

Still, it tasted okay and Andy and the boys wolfed it down like starving things, so I wasn’t too upset after all. ๐Ÿ™‚

Later, the guinea pigs got out, to Zac’s great distress and there was a huge amount of running around, trying to collect them up without scaring them to death. They were caught in the end, and put safely back in their play area, with a chopped carrot to help them feel better but by then, Zac, who has never had hayfever as far as I remember, had spots and swollen eyes and the sneezes.

So he had to be hustled to the shower, still crying, then given anti-histamine to make him comfortable again. The upside is that, as I write this, he is snuggled, sleeping, next to me and all feels right with the world after all.

Good night ๐Ÿ™‚

